HET ERFGOED

People have enjoyed the Vaeshartelt heritage site for many centuries. But time does not stand still. Vaeshartelt has had many incarnations throughout the centuries. It was always open to the changes brought by time. The common purpose for its existence is the one thing that has remained unchanged.

The future

The rich history forms the basis for an amazing future. Vaeshartelt’s history is and will remain a source of inspiration for our future plans. This does not mean we intend to turn Vaeshartelt into a museum without a practical purpose. Our future is immersed in real life. In experiencing, utilising, enjoying.

New paths

We are looking for new paths to unite history, functionality and contemporary relevance. To translate the past into something entirely new. We want to preserve and maintain this special heritage site in a sustainable manner and make it available and accessible to many. We want to surprise guests with the beauty and splendour of the buitenplaats.

TIMELINE

Servaes van Mulcken geschiedenis vaeshartelt

1415

Catharina van Mulcken inherited the estate in 1399. At this time, it was a fortified farmstead with 80 hectares of farmland, including many orchards. She used it as a dowry for her second marriage to Pierre van Cortenbach in 1415. This respectable family continued to run the estate until the seventeenth century.

1639

When Willem van Cortenbach passed away in 1639, the estate was transferred to the Nassau family, because Anna Margaretha, the last Cortenbach descendant and Willem’s heir, had married Philips van Nassau in 1630. In 1668, after Philips’ death and her widowing, Anna Margaretha was married again, this time to Johan Gerard van Oostrum.

Philips van Nassau
Rudolf Sturler Vaeshartelt

1735

Swiss regiment colonel Rudolf Sturler took ownership of the property in 1735. Sturler had instructed his architect to demolish the fortified farmstead and build a seventeenth-century style manor in its place. The current interior still includes the Louis XV style staircase; very fashionable at the time.

1841

The Maastricht industrialist Petrus Regout enters the timeline, leaving what will turn out to be a significant mark on the history of Vaeshartelt Castle. He bought the estate in 1841 on behalf of King Willem II, who expressed a wish for a buitenplaats near Maastricht. King Willem II only spent two weeks at Vaeshartelt at two separate occasions between 1841 and 1848, but even so the north wing of the buitenplaats has been referred to as ‘the little palace’ ever since.

Koning Willem geschiedenis Vaeshartelt
Petrus Ragout geschiedenis van vaeshartelt

1851

In 1851, the Maastricht industrialist Petrus Regout bought Vaeshartelt from king Willem II for only four thousand guilders more than what the king paid for it ten years earlier. This ‘bargain’ was transformed into a stately residence by the fabulously wealthy Regout, a home to enjoy the finer things in life. Some of the work he commissioned included the amazing smoking room (fumoir) and an English landscaped park, with tree-lined avenues, courtyard gardens, ponds and vistas – still in perfect condition today. Vaeshartelt Castle would remain the property of the Regout family for more than a century.

FUTURE PROJECTS

Link to: OvernachtenLink to: Park